The Vice Chancellor, Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai, Professor Muhammad Nasir Maiturare has inaugurated the Academic Committee for the University’s Medical College.
Speaking during the inauguration ceremony which took place at the Main Campus in Lapai, Professor Maiturare said the committee is expected to pilot the soft and foundation level of the college by developing Academic curriculum for its the take off.
He disclosed that by the Academic Brief of the University, the pre-medical programmes should have commenced since by 2016/2017 academic session, while the full program is 2018/2019 session, but that the establishment of a Medical College has been a difficult task which must require the input of various stakeholders in the field of Medicine, especially from other universities in the country.
The Vice Chancellor stressed that work has since commenced on the site of the college and that the site for the Teaching Hospital has also been acquired.
Responding, the Chairman of the Committee, Professor Abu Kaseem Adamu expressed the hope that a lot of positive developments would come out from the report of committee when submitted, and thanked the University Management for the confidence reposed on members of the Committee.
Professor Adamu who is the Deputy Vice Chancellor ( Administration), enjoined members of the Committee to work as a team for the establishment of an enduring legacy for the institution.
Also speaking, the Head of Medical experts from other higher institutions of learning in the country, Professor Abubakar Alhaji Aliyu, assured of the full commitment of members to the assignment.
In their separate contributions, the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic), Professor Mohammed S. Mohammed and the Registrar, Alhaji Musa Ango Abdullahi expressed the hope that the Medical College would come on board with a fine academic curriculum considering the calibre of men on the Committee.
The Vice Chancellor later led members of the Committee on an inspection of the project site of the College where they expressed satisfaction with the level of work so far.
The Committee has Professor A.K Adamu as Chairman. Members are: Professor Abubakar A. Aliyu, Ahmadu Bello UUniversity Teaching Hospital; Dr Sadiq Mohammed, Aminu Kano Teaching Hospital; Dr Samuel Hemba, Benue State University University Teaching Hospital; Dr Mohammed Aliyu Makusidi, representative of Uthman Dan Fodio University, Sokoto,and Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Health, Niger State; and Professor M. S Mohammed, Deputy Vice Chancellor, Academic.
Others are Professor M.T Mustapha, Director, Quality Assuarance; Dr Mohammed Aliyu Paiko,Director, Academic Planning; Dr Hassan Jimada Director Medical and Health Services, IBBUL, while Musa M.Mahmood, Academic Secretary would serve as Secretary respectively. The Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Health was replaced by Dr. Mayaki Aminu, Chief Medical Director, Jummai Babangida Aliyu Antenatal Hospital, Minna.
It would be recalled that part of the efforts of the University Management in the establishment of the Medical College was the signing of a Memoradum of Understanding with the African Healthcare Development Trust in the United Kingdom, led by the Vice Chancellor, Professor Muhammad Nasir Maiturare three years ago; and the signing of contract for the construction of the College early this year.

Demo Title

Demo Description

My first Popup

This will close in 20 seconds