...Skip to content

Department of political science


The Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, established by the Niger State University law of 2005, commenced academic activities during the 2005/2006 session. The Department of Political Science is one of the oldest Departments in the Faculty of Management and Social Sciences of the University. The foundation staff are: Mall. Mohammed Hashim Yunusa, Hajiya Fatima Katcha and Dr. Smith Sunday Usen. The Department of PublicAdministration and Local Government Studies was created during 2007/2008 academic session and was subsumed under the Department for the purpose of accreditation and rational utilization of human resources. However, the Local Government Studies Programme was scrapped and merged with Public Administration due to shortage of manpower in Local Government Studies.


Our mission is to make the Department a citadel of knowledge acquisition, where research teaching and community service are highly encouraged as the development of human resources for the country, the world and the entire humanity.


Our vision is to make the Department one ofthe best in the world in production of highly skilled manpower through serious academic work and dissemination of knowledge, a highly motivated staff operating in a conducive environment.


  • To provide relevant and marketable academic programmes
  • To provide selfless, committed and dedicated service
  • Production of high quality graduates

Admission requirements

1) Candidates for admission into the Political Science four-year degree programme of the Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University should possess a Senior Secondary School Certificate or General Certificate of Education or their equivalents, with at least five (5) credit passes in English Language, Mathematics and three other subjects which must include either Government or History. In addition, candidates must have acceptable passes (as determined by Senate or the Admission Committee from time to time) in the University Matriculation Examination (UME) or the Joint Admission and Matriculation Board (JAMB).

2) Candidates for Direct Entry Admission should posses five (5) Credit passes in the General Certificate of Education or its equivalent, two of which shall be at the advanced level, or four credit passes, three of which shall be at advanced level, provided that such passes are not counted at both levels of the examination. The subjects passed at the “A” level must include Government or History.

3) Candidate with any other qualification as may be prescribed by or found acceptable to the University and subject to any other conditions to be satisfied.

Dr. Ahmed Letswa Mohammed